Home > News > Industry News > AAMA recognizes member leadership during 76th Annual Conference

AAMA recognizes member leadership during 76th Annual Conference

Post Time:Mar 04,2013Classify:Industry NewsView:82

The American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA) recognized the contributions and achievements of its members and congratulated award winners at the 76th Annual Conference Awards Banquet held in Tucson, Ariz. Award presenters noted the importance of these member contributions as they serve to further the industry as a whole.  

Biennial Chairman’s Award -- Pella Corporation

Pella Corporation of Pella, Iowa, was presented the Biennial Chairman’s Award by Steve Fronek (Apogee Enterprises/

Every two years, the Chairman’s Award is presented by the outgoing Chairman of AAMA’s Board of Directors to a single member company in appreciation of its outstanding commitment and dedicated support of the industry.

Pella offers a full range of wood, fiberglass and vinyl residential and commercial products for new construction, remodeling and replacement projects, which are manufactured at 12 plants located throughout the U.S.

Although Pella became an AAMA member in 2008, Fronek noted the company has been a “key factor in AAMA’s contributions,” and has had a “major impact on the green building movement” for the industry at large.

Specifically, Joe Hayden, senior project engineer; Kathy Krafka Harkema, corporate public relations manager; and Larry Ehlinger, senior director, engineer and quality, were recognized.


Outstanding Member Award -- Rod Hershberger (PGT Industries)

Rod Hershberger, CEO and president of PGT Industries of North Venice, Fla., was named Outstanding Member, as presented by the previous year’s award winner, Gantt Miller (Winco Manufacturing Co.).

The Outstanding Member Award is given to an individual who has distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of AAMA and the industry as a whole.

Hershberger currently serves on eight councils and 12 committees and task groups and has been active in AAMA the last 21 years. He is the former chair of AAMA's board of directors (2009-2011) and still currently serves on the board.

In presenting the award, Miller noted that Hershberger’s career “covers just about every aspect of manufacturing windows and doors, including engineering, marketing, sales, manufacturing, transportation, logistics and customer service.”

As the co-founder of PGT Industries, Hershberger has served the company since its founding in 1980. Appointed in 2005 as CEO, Hershberger led the company's IPO in 2006.


Architectural Products Group Distinguished Service Award -- Scott Condreay (Sapa Extrusions)

The Distinguished Service Award for the Architectural Products Group was presented to Scott Condreay, senior manufacturing engineer for Sapa Extrusions, Inc. of Moon Township, Pa., by Steve Fronek (Apogee Enterprises/Wausau Window and Wall Systems), president of the Architectural Products Group.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Architectural Products Group.

Fronek noted that although Condreay has only been with AAMA for nine years, Condreay has made “an indelible mark on the fortunes of our association [AAMA] and our industry.”

Condreay is currently involved in 34 councils, committees and task groups, including the Fiberglass Material Council as well as five product councils. Additionally, Condreay serves on six AAMA Board committees, which include the Code Action Committee, Finance Committee, Membership Committee, Regulatory Affairs Committee and Sites and Program Committee.

In addition to his contributions through AAMA’s committees and task groups, Condreay has helped AAMA in other ways. This year, Sapa Extrusions, with the help of Condreay, sponsored 100

Condreay has more than 30 years of experience in the fenestration industry with eight at Sapa Extrusions.


Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award -- José Colón (Architectural Testing, Inc.)

The Distinguished Service Award for the Residential Products Group was presented to José Colón, director of regional operations for Architectural Testing, Inc. of York, Pa., by Rod Hershberger (PGT Industries), president of the Residential Products Group.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Residential Products Group.

Colón is currently active in 20 councils, committees and task groups, and during 13-year involvement in AAMA, his focus has been on creating and updating codes and standards that affect fenestration testing, blast mitigation, impact resistance and field testing. Colón also serves as a subject matter for AAMA’s

Hershberger noted that Colón began his career at Hurricane Test Laboratory (now known as Architectural Testing) as a test engineer and “has been deeply involved in product testing for 17 years.” Some of Colón’s responsibilities include creating test plans, managing field testing, product testing, quality control, lab accreditation and test and media demonstrations.


Marketing Distinguished Service Award -- Tracy Rogers (Quanex Building Products)

The Marketing Distinguished Service Award was presented to Tracy Rogers, director of industry relations for Quanex Building Products of Kent, Wash., by Brent Slaton (Keymark Corporation), recipient of last year’s award.

This award is presented to acknowledge a single individual who has exhibited leadership and outstanding service in marketing activities for the association.

Slaton said the following about Rogers’ work with the association: “[Rogers] has truly been an avid and valuable supporter of the activities behind AAMA’s marketing efforts. For example, he has been one of the most active members of AAMA’s Marketing Steering Committee as the representative of the Glass Material Council.”

Most recently, Rogers has taken on the task of chairing AAMA’s Green and Sustainability Task Group, where his peers say he “has done an outstanding job of making sure all voices are heard.”

Additionally, Rogers has served on the following groups, focusing on marketing initiatives in 2012: Architectural Product Group’s Energy Course Task Group, AAMA/IGMA Understanding Glass Standards White Paper Task Group and AAMA’s Vinyl Material Council’s Marketing Committee.


Additional Recognition

Also during the Awards Banquet, previous years’ Outstanding Members who were in attendance were recognized for their prominent contributions to AAMA’s progress.

Additionally, chairs of AAMA’s committees and task groups and other leaders also were recognized at the banquet. Walker commented that “it is essential to recognize the AAMA members who faithfully share their time, experience and knowledge to further the goals and initiatives at the task group and committee levels. The membership’s contribution of time and effort plays an integral part in the continued success of the association.”

Source: http://www.glassonweb.com/news/index/18461/Author:

Hot News