Home > News > Industry News > Phoenix Award, Glass Person of the Year 2013

Phoenix Award, Glass Person of the Year 2013

Post Time:Jun 05,2013Classify:Industry NewsView:76

The globally respected Entrepreneur Mr. Chandra Kumar Somany ( known to the glass industry fraternity as “C K” ), has been honoured with the 43rd. Phoenix Award, “Glass Person of the Year 2013”.    

Mr. Somany, pioneer of the Indian Glass Industry, has earned this illustrious award for his contribution to the glass industry in the field of glass manufacturing.

Mr. Somany is presently serving the HNG Group as the Non-Executive Chairman. He was inducted on to the Board of HNG in the year 1970.

CK is an acknowledged expert in glass technology, with the unique distinction of having laid the foundation of Hindustan National Glass and Industries Ltd. in 1952.

It is through CK’s vision, and constant thrust towards innovation and adoption of the latest technologies, that has resulted in the HNG Group emerging as a market leader in the Indian glass packaging Industry. The HNG Group is now operating seven fully automated container glass plants in India and one in Germany, and produces more than 4,800 tpd of glass. The group also has one 600 TPD float glass unit.

Although CK has, all his working life, been an active member of the HNG Board of Directors, he has also found time to dedicate his services to many other organisations, including; The All India Glass Manufactures' Federation as President,The Bengal Glass Manufacturers' Association, The Merchants Chamber of Commerce; The Society of Glass Technology (Indian Section), where he holds the distinguished position of Chairman. Currently, he is also the Chairman of Chemicals & Allied Products Export promotion Council (CAPEXIL). He is also associated with various charitable and philanthropic organizations & carrying on, in the glorious tradition of his illustrious ancestors.

The Phoenix Award Committee congratulates and acknowledges Mr. Somany’s achievement of earning the title “Phoenix Award, Glass Person of the Year, 2013”.

For further information please contact:
Alan A. Hendry, PAC, Public Relations Committee, Chairman; Graham Womersley, PAC, Public Relations Committee, Vice Chairman;

Source: http://www.glassonweb.com/news/index/19279/Author: