Home > News > Industry News > Competition hot’s up for the highly anticipated LEAF Awards

Competition hot’s up for the highly anticipated LEAF Awards

Post Time:May 27,2009Classify:Industry NewsView:368

At the 6th annual Emirates Glass LEAF Awards, top architects from around the world will be competing for their chance to take home a prestigious award. With little over a month left until the entry deadline, projects are rapidly being submitted in time for the judging process. All shortlisted candidates will receive extensive coverage on  
The judging panel will comprise of a number of key individuals drawn from areas of the international construction community including the likes of Nicola Leonardi, Editor of The Plan Magazine and this year’s Chairman, Irving Brauer of the PIA.
The Emirates Glass LEAF Awards take place on 4 September 2009 at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Berlin, Germany and showcases buildings, designs and individuals from across the world.
• Mixed-Use Building of the Year – recognising projects that combine both residential and commercial functions
• Residential Building of the Year – recognising that residential buildings can be very different this award is divided into multiple level building and single storey building
• Commercial Building of the Year
• International Interior Design Award – either new build or refurbishment
• Master Planning and Landscaping
• Young Architect
• Best Sustainable Development
• Public Building
• Best Structural Design of the Year
• And the LEAF Award for the overall winner
Simona Kastly, the awards director adds: “Interest in this year’s LEAF Awards has been tremendous, a true testament to the event. The projects that have already been submitted are of the highest calibre. I feel the judges will have a tough job on their hands in deciding this year’s winners!”
The deadline for award entries is June 26 after this date each award entry will be judged by an esteemed panel and shortlisted for the awards.

Notes for Editors
Now in its sixth year, the LEAF Awards honours the architects designing the buildings and solutions that are setting the benchmark for the international architectural community. The awards are open to all individuals and organisations that have made an outstanding contribution to the world of architecture. Previous winners have included the likes of Zaha Hadid, David Chipperfield, SOM, Steven Holl and Terry Farrell.

The awards take place on the 4 September at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Berlin, Germany
We can provide photography of award winning entries from 2008, photos of the 2008 host Lawrence Llewelyn Bowen and photography from the 2008 ceremony including Paris Hilton with two award winners.
For more information, visit  
Contact Details:
Brunel House
55 – 57 North Wharf Road
W2 1LA
Tel: + 44 (0) 207 915 9609
Fax: + 44 (0) 207 724 2089

Source: Emirates Glass LEAF Awards Author: shangyi

Hot News